Various – Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy presents Balearic Breakfast Volume 3


販売価格¥6,690 JPY
Condition : New
Format : 2LP
RuffRuff App RuffRuff App by Tsun


“Balearic Breakfast doesn't give into clichés, and it's not a purely sunlit affair. Instead, it's sonic escapism that seems unwilling to be beholden to any one locale. The entry requirements are simple: the more transportative the sounds, the more likely they are to slot into Colleen's vision of Balearic.” Resident Advisor

“The biggest heroes of the underground typically wouldn’t describe themselves as such. Frankie Knuckles, Kelli Hand, Andrew Weatherall… all possessed a humility that made them even more honourable and endearing, and they went about their business with little regard for fame and a distaste for industry bullshit. Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy falls firmly into this category.” The Vinyl Factory

Ask anyone to define Balearic music nowadays and you’re guaranteed to get a different answer each time. Since the concept flew from its original Ibizan home and become a global concern, it has become almost impossible to pigeonhole. Now it’s more of a vibe than a musical style; more a reflection of wide open skies and sunshine on the brain than any particular rhythm track or sonic inflection.

That said, if you were after a definitive answer there’s probably no one better placed to give it right now than DJ and broadcaster Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy who has just put together the third volume of her peerless Balearic Breakfast compilation series. This latest collection flies the flag high for that most hazy and hard-to-pin-down genre, gathering up the very best genre-fitting music from around the world, whether from Copenhagen or California, or from the high plains of the desert to deep down in the land of Oz.

Each track may sound completely different from the one it follows, but the same sun kissed spirit runs deep through them all, whether in Cosmo’s own take on Jacob Gurevitsch’s gentle Spanish guitar picking or in the throbbing dub disco of a long lost Andrew Weatherall remix for Primal Scream from 2008. The ten tracks on Balearic Breakfast Volume 3 all add up to create the perfect mixtape for the summer, whatever weather we end up with, whatever time you chose to listen to it. After all, why wait ’til breakfast?

As with each of the other volumes in this essential compilation series, many of the tracks on Balearic Breakfast Volume 3 are previously unavailable on vinyl and others are long since out of print and rarely seen outside of the dustier corners of Discogs. And as with each of the previous albums, numbers are strictly limited (the first two volumes sold out quickly and are now selling for high prices on Discogs).


1. Jonathan Wilson - Desert Raven
2. Jacob Gurevitsch - Elevation in Minor (Cosmodelica Remix)
3. Shawn Lee’s Ping Pong Orchestra - San Diego
4. Quintus Project - Night Flight (Original)
5. Pigeon - Infinity (Josh's Extended Disco Mix)
6. Shunt Voltage – Generator
7. Mildlife - Return To Centaurus (Prins Thomas Diskomiks)
8. David Holmes featuring Raven Violet - Stop Apologising (Cosmodelica Instrumental) 
9. Zero 7 - On My Own
10. Primal Scream - Uptown (Andrew Weatherall Remix)


You may also like

Recently viewed