松井寛(Hiroshi MatSui) – A Love From Tokyo 1991-2003


販売価格¥4,490 JPY
Condition : New
Format : 2LP
RuffRuff App RuffRuff App by Tsun


〈Rush Hour〉からの『(Earth In) Blue』(2022年)、〈Studio Mule〉からの『Samba De Howa Howa』(2019年)などのエポックメイキングな復刻を経て、日本の作家、Hiroshi Matsuiの幻の作品を収録したアルバム『A Love From Tokyo 1991-2003』が〈Sound Of Vast〉よりリリース。

Hiroshi Matsui は1986年以降から現在に至るまで、多数のコマーシャル音楽/歌謡曲/ポップスの作編曲を行っている「職業音楽家」だ。本作に収録されている楽曲は、その職業音楽家としての活動と並行してゲリラ的に自主制作・発売されていた、ダンス・ミュージック群だ。そのうちの一つ、1992年に限定300枚プレスでリリースしていた"Samba De Howa Howa"が、[King Street] にライセンスされ『Sounds Of Far East Dance Music - Compilation Vol 1』(1993年) にSoichi Teradaの"Sun Shower" 等と共に収録されたことは、アンダーグラウンドなハウス・ファンの知るところだろう。彼のリリースはその内容と希少性から、中古市場でカルト的な人気を獲得。そして、先述の復刻盤やBrawther & Alixkunが監修した『ハウス Once Upon A Time In Japan...』(2015年) を経て、現代のフロアに蘇りつつあった。

本作には、初復刻となる楽曲や、これまで未公開であった自身の〈WANT YOU!! Records〉の秘宝音源を含む、1991年から2003年に制作された10曲をコンパイル。1991年に日本の大手レーベル〈Alfa Music〉傘下よりリリースされたCDミニアルバム『Call You Back』に収録されていた、感涙のピアノ・ハウス・アンセム“Crazy Love”、ブレイクビーツ・ハウス・バンガー“Call You Back”と、初復刻となる2曲で本作の幕が開く。まずここで、Hiroshi Mastuiの楽曲がエヴァーグリーンであることが確信できる。“(Earth In) Blue” (1999年) にも参加した日本人ヴォーカリストSuzi Kimを迎えた“Little Bit Of Our Love” (1993年) や“Super Love” (2003年) は、90年代ーー最初のハウス黄金期を想起させる多幸感で溢れ、“Love Luv Rendez-vous” (1994年) や“Dancing On Mars” (1994年) はさながら初期シカゴ・ハウスの亜種のように展開する。今やよく知られたアンセム“Samba De Howa Howa” (1992年) やジャッキンなアシッド・ハウス“Tsun-Ban-Tsun-Yeah”の忙しないアレンジメントは、現行のフロアをも狂騒に導いてくれるだろう。そして、待望の未公開曲“Love Me One More Time” (1993年制作) で、本作は締め括られる。

『A Love From Tokyo 1991-2003』の楽曲では明らかに同時期のUS産ハウス作品が参照されつつも、氏の本業でも培われた作編曲家としてのメロディー・センスや構成力が発揮され、他と一線を画す個性が溢れている。どこかで聴いたことがあるようにも思えるし、全く新しい何かのようにも思える。つまり本作はパラレルな過去を顧みるかのような不思議な音楽体験の源であり、その体験にこそ、氏のハウス作品のテーマである“愛”が見出せるのかもしれない。


A1. Crazy Love
A2. Call You Back
A3. Little Bit Of Our Love
B1. Samba De Howa Howa
B2. Love Luv Rendez-vous
C1. (Earth In) Blue
C2. Dancing On Mars
C3. Tsun-Ban-Tsun-Yeah
D1. Super Love
D2. Love Me One More Time

Following reissues for Rush Hour & Studio Mule, Sound Of Vast present "A Love From Tokyo 1991-2003," a collection of work from Japanese artist, Hiroshi Mastui.

The album features ten tracks produced between 1991 and 2003, and includes material reissued for the first time and previously unreleased treasures from his own 'WANT YOU! Records'.

The album opens with two first-time reissues, an emotional piano house anthem, "Crazy Love," which appeared on the CD mini-album "Call You Back," released in 1991 on Japanese major label 'Alfa Music', and the breakbeat house banger "Call You Back”. The opening track soon makes you realize that Hiroshi’s music is timeless. “Little Bit Of Our Love" (1993) and “Super Love” (2003), featuring Japanese vocalist Suzi Kim, who also appears in "(Earth In) Blue" (1999), resemble that euphoria of the first golden age of House music in the 1990s. While "Love Luv Rendez-vous" (1994) and "Dancing On Mars" (2003) are direct descendants of the sounds of early Chicago House music. The bustling arrangement of the anthem track “Samba De Howa Howa" (1992) and jacking acid house track "Tsun-Ban-Tsun-Yeah" will drive even the modern-day floor to its peak. The album concludes with the long-awaited, previously unreleased "Love Me One More Time" (produced in 1993).

Professionally Hiroshi Matsui is a 'career musician' who has written and arranged countless commercial music/songs/pop songs since 1986. The tracks in this album are pure dance music that was independently produced and released spontaneously in parallel with his day job. Underground house fans are familiar that "Howa," licensed to [King Street], appeared on "Sounds Of Far East Dance Music - Compilation Vol 1" (1993), along with Soichi Terada's "Sun Shower" and other tracks. His excellent works became highly sought after in the second-hand market. Alongside the reissues mentioned above and "ハウス (House) Once Upon A Time In Japan..." (2015), produced by Brawther & Alixkun, his tracks are starting to be revived on modern dancefloors.

The tracks on the compilation are heavily influenced by US House music from the same period, and also display Hiroshi’s distinct melodic sense and compositional ability composer/arranger that he developed through his musical career. It seems as if we have heard it somewhere before, but at the same time, it also sounds completely new. In other words, his work invites you to a unique musical experience, as if looking back on a parallel past, and it is through this experience that we may find LOVE - the theme of his work.

You may also like

Recently viewed